Thoughts and Meditations from the San Antonio Missions: Part 2

Amber asked me if I wanted to return with her to the Missions. We have been on a similar trip before. We mostly enjoyed ourselves. Mostly. Here are the things I learned on my second journey to the San Antonio Missions.

  • DO.NOT.TOUCH.300-400. YEAR.OLD. STATUES.
  • DO NOT TOUCH 300-400 YEAR OLD BUILDINGS.
  • DO NOT RIDE YOUR BICYCLE THROUGH A 300-400 YEAR OLD ACTIVE CHURCH.
  • DO NOT BRING YOUR DOG INTO A 300-400 YEAR OLD ACTIVE CHURCH.
  • STOP TOUCHING HISTORIC MONUMENTS, BUILDINGS AND ARTIFACTS.

Amber and I had to leave the Missions early because I was too angry at people touching statues…

Here are some of my real thoughts, though.

  • I still struggle with the narrative of great men doing great things when it comes to the Alamo.
  • I still struggle as a Roman Catholic knowing that my church is more responsible for acts of terror than any of my Muslim brothers and sisters.
  • I still struggle with the fact that as an American, African-American and woman that my place is history is odd, recent and now is mostly written by very current hands.
  • I am curious how the Koi got to the Alamo…and if they’re okay.
  • I didn’t know Texas had a patron saint.
  • My anger when it comes to touching statues is an issue of respect. If you love something, ensure that it stays around for a long time and don’t touch it.
  • I am conflicted about what it means to be an American and a Catholic right now: especially considering the current state of the world.

This one was a little short but our trip to the Missions was a little short and the last time I wrote about this I was far more eloquent.

Always remember, the oils in your fingers destroy monuments.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

